state of medicine

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by burlingame.2, Apr 12, 2004.

1. burlingame.2

burlingame.2 Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

This is my first message so please be kind. I am currently working as a cardiovascular perfusionist and am interested in furthuring my career in medicine as a physician. Since I work in the health care field I am aware of the extreme problems facing medicine now with the malpractice insurance and the decrease in the amount of reimbursement from insurance agencies. My question is has anyone heard or is anyone worried about starting out with a 120-150k debt and not being able to repay it. I do not want to become a doctor for the money (perfusion pays pretty well), but I am concerned about the amount of debt that I will accumulate and the possibility of starting out at what I currently make now. If anyone has any thought or insight on their own or medicine in general financial state, please respond. Thank you and good luck to everyone in their personal career paths.

Concerned

2. Kalel

Kalel Membership Revoked
    Removed