state-of-residence question

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by robbie124, Jun 22, 2002.

1. robbie124

robbie124 New Member

I am a NY resident and have declared myself as one on my 2003 AMCAS application. However, I am currently working in California, and put down my CA address as my preferred mailing address. Will this make med schools think I'm not a true NY resident?

Thanks for any help.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Doctora Foxy

Medical Student
    of course not! Many people are in school (out of state) when they put down their preferred mailing address, so don't worry about it. :)

4. robbie124

robbie124 New Member

Thank you.

5. MAKE SURE you keep all your documentation (license, registration, voter's registration) in NY or your residency might come into question for tuition purposes. i almost screwed myself this year because of that.

6. souljah1

souljah1 Attending

Also, I would check with your in-state schools to and ask them what their instate resident requirements are. Some schools (some UCs) will not consider you an instate resident if you live outside the state and are taxed in that state. I am a CA resident and before I left I visited my school's advising service and they called the UCs to see what and what I could not do. Turned out that I could live outside the state, but could not vote or receive state income tax from that outside state. It also helps to keep your license, your permanent residence, and a bank account (even if you have a dollar in it!) in the state that you call your permanent home. I wouldn't stress over it. Best of luck.

7. edmadison

edmadison 1K Member

Attending Physician
    </font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Originally posted by robbie124: