State of Residency HELP!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bjh0609

島達 也
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello StudentDocs:),

I am an undergrad currently studying in Texas (rising junior). I went to private school in Massachusetts for four years before coming here. I am still under international status, but I will be getting my permanent residency very soon (least before turning my applications in for med school).

My questions are regarding state of residency. Googling around and searching this forum told me that in order to get Texas (or other state's) residency, I need to live here for 12 months. I have found about this a long time ago, until recently when I found out that 12 months do NOT include the time in college. There is no way I can fill that up, unless I apply after I graduate or something.

I really want to go to one of the UTs for medicine (sadly I know I have no shot at Baylor:(). But without Texas residency it is nearly impossible to get in (which is true for any other state school).

Funny thing I remember is that last year I received some kind of tax refund form for Massachusetts residents (yes, that was mailed to my dorm). So there is a possibility that I am a Massachusetts resident.

To sum up, here are my questions:

1) Is it impossible to get Texas residency without the 12 month requirement?
2) Is there a way to check if I still have Massachusetts residency?
3) Is it possible to be a permanent resident WITHOUT any state residency? This is what scares me the most. If this is true I will have to apply for private institutions only.

I have not taken MCAT yet (studying right now...yeah:p), but I am likely to apply for MD, OD and PA programs just to be safe.

PS. This is my first post on this forum! and I really apologize for making my first post a bombard of questions.

Members don't see this ad.

If you did a Mass tax return you are a mass resident.