alibai3ah

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Aug 24, 2008
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello,

I just had a quick question about state of residency and residency applications when the time comes. I am a 3rd year medical student. I am orginally from California (went to undergrad there) and now go to a private east coast medical school. I wanted to ask you guys with experience applying to residencies, if it is advantageous to hold a California state residency (California driver's license) when applying to California residencies? I would like to go back and I just wanted to see if it would hurt me if I applied to those California residencies with my new state's driver license (because it turns out I may need to change driver license/state of residency for car parking purposes).

Thank you! Sorry if this has been answered before, I couldn't find an answer anywhere??

Valadi

7+ Year Member
Aug 1, 2010
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Not from Cali myself, but from what I've heard Cali likes to take Cali people.

That being said, I know plenty of people not from California that went off to residency there.

Does Stanford discriminate based on state? Being that it's private.

OP
alibai3ah

alibai3ah

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Aug 24, 2008
Status
Pre-Medical
Not from Cali myself, but from what I've heard Cali likes to take Cali people.

That being said, I know plenty of people not from California that went off to residency there.

Does Stanford discriminate based on state? Being that it's private.
Well that's the thing, I am from California....I just don't go to medical school there. And I just didn't want them to treat me like an OOS student, if I changed my residency (considering I lived there all my life until before medical school).

RestoreSight

7+ Year Member
Jun 12, 2011
Status
Resident [Any Field]