SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

State Residency Legitamacy Question

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by phantomx87, Apr 28, 2007.

1. phantomx87

phantomx87 Wishing I was a bum 5+ Year Member

Hey everyone... Need an INFORMED opinion on this subject:

I am a resident of PA, but my father has a practice in NJ. (We used to live there, but that's beside the point.) Anyways, we pay taxes in both states. Would I qualify to apply as an in-state resident of NJ for their schools? :confused:

I am obviously going to call the schools for their official take on the subject. Thing is, it's been bothering me for a while and I can't really wait that long to know (yeah, I'm inpatient, but so are the rest of you! :laugh: )

Much thanks and appreciation in advance!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. MyStiKxFury

MyStiKxFury 2+ Year Member

Sep 7, 2006
    Your state of residency is the state where you have your driver's license and voter's registration, and you can only have one state of legal residency

4. postbacker

postbacker Banned Banned

Mar 27, 2007
    It varies from state to state, but the above is basically true for every state. Some states apply other "tests" of residency, such as providing copies of residential leases, mortgage info, utility bills, etc., in your name with an in-state address, and other such proof. Where YOU pay income taxes is also a key indicator of residency.

I think that it is very difficult to switch state residency simply by attending school out of state - there is a lot of confusion and I believe erroneous info here about being able to file for in-state tuition privileges after being at a school for a year - ultimately the schools you are interested in are the best source of information on this issue. Nobody here can make any blanket statements on this matter.

5. Wanna_B_Scutty

Wanna_B_Scutty MS1 2+ Year Member

Mar 30, 2006