Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

state residency

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by peabody, Apr 29, 2002.

1. peabody

peabody Member
    7+ Year Member

I have a technical question about one's state of residence. I am a legal resident of the state of Massachusetts - I vote here and I have a driver's license here. I have been in continuous residence since enrolling in college here and have not spent more than one week a year in Florida (where I am from). I am planning on applying for medical school admission, most likely in 2004. Mass basically says I will not be eligible to apply to their school because they require residency for five years prior to admission, and you must not have been a dependent of someone in another state during that period. I will be a dependent of my legal guardians in Florida through September. Should I try to revert to my Florida residency before then (not meaning I would move back there)? Or will it not make any difference in the end? Thanks so much.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. mpp

mpp SDN Moderator
    Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    It would depend on the school to which you would like to apply. Are they more receptive to Mass residents, Florida residents, or neither?

4. pwrpfgrl

pwrpfgrl Senior Member
    7+ Year Member