drCA

10+ Year Member
Mar 10, 2005
Status
I'm a female CA Resident who went to med school in the midwest. I want a Gen Surg residency in CA, and I'm wondering if I'm competitive. My Step I Scores are ~220. Can I get USC, UCLA or Loma Linda w/ that? Also, what programs would you recommend that don't work you to the bone and are not malignant? I'm planning on taking Step 2 in March so my scores won't count towards apps. Grades/activities/letters of rec are above average, but nothing super. I do have a good personality, though. Please give feedback. Thanks.
-Trying to get home to CA :)

OP
D

drCA

10+ Year Member
Mar 10, 2005
Status
I know I could take Step 2 early, but I've talked to a lot of people who did not do as well on Step 2, and I know it looks worse if you do the same or +/- 5 points on Step 2. I'm not really feeling like studying that much, nor do I have the time (b/c of externships), so I've decided to put it off on the chance that if I do worse I screw myself over for residencies where I have a decent chance.

tom_jones

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jul 7, 2004
Status
drCA said:
I know I could take Step 2 early, but I've talked to a lot of people who did not do as well on Step 2, and I know it looks worse if you do the same or +/- 5 points on Step 2. I'm not really feeling like studying that much, nor do I have the time (b/c of externships), so I've decided to put it off on the chance that if I do worse I screw myself over for residencies where I have a decent chance.

You need to suck it up and study for step 2. 220 is a low score and g.s. on the west coast is competitive. If you don't put the effort in, you only have yourself to blame if you don't match.

doc05

2K Member
15+ Year Member
May 24, 2003
U.S.A.
Visit site
Status
drCA said: