Steps to becoming a veterinarian?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

x3anewdisaster

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a rising sophomore in high school, (10th grade.) I've wanted to be a veterinarian since I was probably 5, and I am seriously considering it now. I would say that I'm rather intelligent in the math/science subjects and my GPA is a 4.0 as of now. I would like to have some detailed information/step-by-step tips to getting to where I really want to be in life, and my dream is to attend my in-state vet school, Virginia-Maryland Regional College. What should I do now and the years after to become a veterinarian? And can I use the hours of veterinary/animal experience that I may make now in the application for vet schools?

Please be extremely detailed (as I am a perfectionist)! Thank you so much for your time :):)

Members don't see this ad.

Wow that actually helped alot! Thanks so much :) Well, I'm still volunteering at my local animal shelter this summer, but I'll definitely look into some other things too. When I'm 16, I am going to submit a resume to work at my veterinarian's clinic, and next summer, I have signed up to volunteer at the zoo. When you're an undergraduate, what's the best advice to balance time between school, studying, work/volunteering, and personal life (family and friends)?

Members don't see this ad :)
To answer your first post, you can use high school vet and animal experience for your application, so it's great that you are getting experience already!

And if you haven't checked it out already, look around the AAVMC website. They have a lot of good information about the different schools. Here is a link to their list of requirements for each school:

http://www.aavmc.org/vmcas/college_requirement.htm