Steps to bps certification as hospital staff pharmacist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

firepower

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am interested in becoming BCPS certified. After pharmacy school i worked for 2 years as a retail pharmacist then went to hospital. I have been working in a pediatric hospital for the last 8 years but only in staff/dispensary position. I would appreciate any insights/advice on steps to take to become certified.

Members don't see this ad.

I followed the BCPS thread already but I wanted this thread to focus only on the pharmacist who already has >3years as hospital pharmacist but only in a dispensary role. This is where I am now.

Want type of activities/practice should i engage in to meet the requirement of "50% of time spent in pharmacotherapy activities" that bps is looking for. Do I need to keep a daily log of these activities and turn it over to bps? (I already have the pharmacotherapy content outline, so I know what I need to review to sit for the exam).
Also, should I consider residency? I thought about it but what are my chances of getting a residency placement 10 years after pharmacy school graduation.
Your thoughts/advice/suggestions will be appreciated. Thank you.

I followed the BCPS thread already but I wanted this thread to focus only on the pharmacist who already has >3years as hospital pharmacist but only in a dispensary role. This is where I am now.

Want type of activities/practice should i engage in to meet the requirement of "50% of time spent in pharmacotherapy activities" that bps is looking for. Do I need to keep a daily log of these activities and turn it over to bps? (I already have the pharmacotherapy content outline, so I know what I need to review to sit for the exam).
Also, should I consider residency? I thought about it but what are my chances of getting a residency placement 10 years after pharmacy school graduation.