soapall16

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Nov 27, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Hi, I’m new to SDN, but I heard this would be a great place to get some honest advice/ input.

So here goes:
I took the January MCAT- overall 28 p-11,b-10, v-7
I applied with the 28 and decided that I should take the September MCAT because I figured that my verbal would hurt me. Turns out this might not have been the greatest option. I ended up with a 9-9-9. I’m sure this looks bad to schools.
- My overall GPA is 3.74, science 3.59 (never got a C or withdrew from a class).
- I’ve done lots of volunteering (ER, oncology, classroom volunteer, mentor, internship, working with foreign exchange students, etc). I also got to go in the operating room and watch plastic surgeries, and orthopedic surgeries. I’ve also shadowed pediatricians and oncologists.

-Involved in lots of organizations and a secretary for one of them.

-I just got involved in two research projects last semester, which I plan to continue working on: 1.) Spatial cognition 2.) Diversity Initiative

I’m a Florida resident, and plan to stay in state, therefore I applied to all Florida schools and some out of state (GWU, NY Medical College, Wisconsin Medical College, Temple). I did apply early because I already had my 28, but I have yet to hear anything from schools except that my application is complete and under review. I applied to only MD schools, but I am thinking about applying to Nova (DO) because of all the great things I hear. I do realize that in order to do this, I need to find an osteopathic physician ASAP. I’m kind of in panic mode right now since I have friends who are getting interviews and accepted. But I do have friends who applied last year, and got interviews in March at UF and USF… but they weren’t accepted.

Anyone get interviews late in process? How did it go? Any advice on what to do now? I’ve already sent updates to schools. Thanks in advance.

nontrdgsbuiucmd

10+ Year Member
Mar 28, 2008