Sep 29, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical
This is my first time posting anything on this site, and I need some advice! I have been "pre-med" for as long as I can remember, I am one of those "I have always wanted to be a doctor" types. Because of that I never really looked into any of the other options in the healthcare field. Now fast forward 5 yrs, I have a B.S in biology and am starting my M.S in biomedical science (mostly because I was getting bored at home). I took the MCAT twice and scored 23 both times :( I get such bad test anxiety that I freak out and don't finish on time...I have a 3.7 GPA and pretty good volunteer/shadowing. I'm starting to doubt if I really am cut out for such a competitive field. I have spent many nights contemplating why I even want to go to medical school and I keep coming up with the same thing... I want to make people feel better physically and mentally, I love to learn about the human body(not to mention I think I'm pretty good at it) and I want to be in charge. Of course the pay is an extra perk, but I don't need to live an extravagant life, I just want to be comfortable and not have to worry about living pay check to paycheck. Is there anyone out there in my same situation? Any suggestions for alternate career paths?

Sep 4, 2006
Inside the tesseract
With your good GPA, you might be able to get into some of the DO medical schools with your current MCAT score. And likely Podiatric school is within your reach (they take the MCAT too). Or get a job in whatever your current masters is preparing you for.

Alternatively, see your physician and discuss your test anxiety, as there are ways to moderate the problem. Any route to practicing medicine will entail lifelong tests and recertifications. If you can't conquer this problem long enough to score well on the MCAT, it doesn't bode well for success in the rest of your career.

Sep 29, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical