stipend=job commitment M.S.W.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

frenchymmd

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For the tuition reimbursement and a living stipend at the MSW program I am looking at, you have to commit to working for DCS for 2 years after receiving your degree.

This seems to be a good deal (it helps you get your foot in the door); however, I wonder about the effects it can have on your career if DCS and the like is not the path you eventually want your career to go.

What do you guys think?

Members don't see this ad.

Is that the Title XIV grant? I didn't realize that was a national initiative. That started when I was a senior BSSW student and about 6 people in my class took advantage of it. It was my understanding that you do a paid practicum with DFS, and then have your 2-year commitment, for a total of about 3 years. One woman in my class repaid her stipend rather than have to fulfill her commitment because her practicum site experience was so bad.