straight up...what are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smartwater

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here goes...

I graduated college in May 2008 with a BS degree in bioengineering and a 3.55 gpa. I have no clue what my BCPM gpa is. I did get a C in 2nd semester physics, but it was significantly harder because it was tailored towards engineering students. I also got a C in ochem I, but I retook it and got an A. The rest were A's and B's.

Here is the stuff I was/am involved in:

- almost 2 years of research during undergrad, but it was more engineering/water science/microbiology and I wasn't published
- a summer of biomedical engineering research at UW Madison
- two summers working with developmentally disabled kids (I want to go into pediatrics)
- about 6 or 7 months volunteering in the peds unit of a hospital
- I currently volunteer in a clinic that provides low-cost healthcare to the underserved community. I volunteer in the pharmacy.
- I currently work for a company that uses cadavers to train surgeons and other medical professionals. I have gotten to observe several surgeries (mainly orthopedic and spinal) and have gotten to help procure some body parts

I am also a URM female (but I DON'T want this to be the only reason that I get in). I'm taking the MCAT in May and hopefully I can score at least a 30. I should actually be studying right now...

Anyhow, with all this being said, what are my chances?

Members don't see this ad.

The time you've spent in research is substantial, and it doesn't matter that is wasn't in the basic sciences. Your clinical experience is impressive and includes community service positions, which is expected. Your job working with cadavers is unique and will likely open some of the conversations at your interviews. I do not see a leadership position or teaching/mentoring, either of which would be good to list.