Strategies for outpatient

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RedPeony

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a resident starting to do outpatient work, and I have a few questions:

1) Do you have any tips for time management without trying to be rude/look too rushed?
I often find that patients want to have a giant vent session about whatever stressors are going on in their lives, and it can be hard to interrupt them to ask basic questions about history, symptoms, med compliance, side effects, etc. Normally I'll try to let them vent for a few minutes before I get more aggressive with interrupting and sometimes I just realize that I won't be able to get all of the info I'm looking for. And these are 30 mins visits, I can't imagine doing 15 min visits for some of my more talkative patients.

2) What is a psychiatrist's role in trying to help patients through interpersonal, romantic, financial, job, etc stress that isn't necessarily symptoms of a psychiatric illness? I work in a mostly low functioning population so it's a lot of crisis management. Beyond suggesting really basic solutions (perspective taking, goal setting, assertiveness, relaxation techniques, exercising more, etc) I will try to refer patients to therapy. Often they don't want to go or say "it doesn't work for me."

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a resident starting to do outpatient work, and I have a few questions:

1) Do you have any tips for time management without trying to be rude/look too rushed?