plumdearly

10+ Year Member
Mar 26, 2008
Wilmington
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi all! This is my first time posting but I’ve been a lurker for over a year. I was hoping I could get some advice from those of you “in the trenches”.

I decided to start school at the age of 28. I am working on my Associates in Biology before moving on to a four-year college. I plan to enter medical school in 2012.

For the past year and a half, I have been working full-time, going to school full-time, volunteering on the weekends, and trying my best to have a family life. I have two small boys, ages 8 and 4. My husband and I have also had some financial difficulties because he recently lost a very good job and it has set us back quite a bit. I am starting to feel overloaded and stressed to the point that I think it may be affecting my health, and I often wonder if I’m unable to handle the stress of it all and therefore unable to handle being a doctor or if this is what all pre-med students feel.

I wanted to end my school career as debt-free as possible, but I’m thinking about taking out a student loan when I enter a four-year school next May so that I can attend and work part-time, if at all. I'm hoping this will alleviate some stress.

My first question is, is this pressure normal? How do you all deal with making time for your families in between all of your other obligations? Have any of you stopped working full-time to attend school, and is that looked down upon by medical schools? How do you manage to pay for your school without going deeply into debt (or is that even possible)? And how do you manage the stress?

Luxian

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Dec 13, 2006
Status
Medical Student