stroke caused by manipulation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tlh908

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I saw this news storys today, although I wish I had more information:

What about OMM that DO's perform? Could there be similiar risks? I am a premed student who wants to be a DO and would like others take on the above article.

Members don't see this ad.

What above article?

Yes, this absolutely can happen, although not frequently. If you start tugging on a vertebral artery with a ripe plaque about to break off, you definitely can cause a CNS infarct. Most of the high velocity techniques practiced by chiroparctors and osteopaths are very similar.

Members don't see this ad :)
It is not just a matter of causing a stroke by dislodging plaque. There have been very well documented cases of carotid artery dissections as a result of cervical manipulation done by chiropractors. I have not seen any numbers for the same when DOs are involved, but I bet it happens as cervical HVLA techniques are similar, although I heard that some chiropractic techniques use more overextension than the standard for osteopathic cervical HVLA.

One of my attendings told me that he saw 2 such cases during his IM residency and they were both post-chiropractic manipulation.

I think carotid artery dissections are underdocumented for a series of reasons: they can occur up to a week post manipulation, which makes it hard to connect cause/effect. Some can actually be pratically silent, as they are usually not complete disections.