Student clinical rotation settings - how will this impact my career in the future?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hahill

Reaction score
Hi all - I am a 2nd year DPT student. I completed the didactic portion of my program and passed comps back in May. In order to graduate, we must complete 3 10 week clinical rotations to finish out the program. Needless to say, with COVID rotations have been a mess. My class' May rotations were all cancelled, so we are scheduled to start our new first rotations this Monday. I was originally supposed to be going to a SNF for these 10 weeks, but due to pandemic-related changes and student restrictions, the parent company cancelled my rotation there last week. My clin ed coordinator scrambled to get me placed somewhere else, and I am now scheduled to start at an OP clinic on Monday. That being said, I am now scheduled to complete 3 outpatient ortho rotations, and no inpatient experience (this was required by my program before COVID, but they are not considering waiving the IP requirement). I love the clinic I will be at for my 2nd rotation, and at the 3rd OP clinic I will be getting the opportunity to get in the pool for aquatic therapy 2 days a week, which I am very excited and passionate about. On the other hand, I am really ambivalent about the clinic I was just placed at to start on Monday. Since it was a last minute placement, it is not an ideal situation (hour commute both ways, on top of 11 hour work days), and I am honestly just not psyched about doing all outpatient ortho. I am passionate about aquatic therapy, the spinal cord injury population, patients with MS and Parkinsons, and adaptive recreation. I am concerned that I will not get enough/any exposure to a neuro or inpatient population now, and I also don't feel confident in an inpatient setting so would really like to get some experience there.