student elective for a foreign medical student - student visa(f1) or visitors visa

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

navigator420

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hii,
i am a foreign medical student from india. i have scheduled electives in the early part of next yr at LAC MEDICAL CENTER ( LOS ANGELES)and CHARITY HOSPITAL ( NEW ORLEANS) .

i was wondering if i would be eligible for a student visa (f1) or J1 visa for my rotations. i understand that rotations are done on a visitors visa by many non US citizens . is that a rule or is it something the hospital decides? (whether to sponsor a visitors or student visa)

did any one of you or anyone you know do his/her rotations on a student visa orJ1 visa . DOES IT REALLY MATTER ON WHAT VISA I AM GOING TO APPLY (I MEAN THE CHANCES OF GETTING ACCEPTED OR REJECTED AT THE US EMBASSY)

Members don't see this ad.

navigator420 said:
hii,
i am a foreign medical student from india. i have scheduled electives in the early part of next yr at LAC MEDICAL CENTER ( LOS ANGELES)and CHARITY HOSPITAL ( NEW ORLEANS) .

i was wondering if i would be eligible for a student visa (f1) or J1 visa for my rotations. i understand that rotations are done on a visitors visa by many non US citizens . is that a rule or is it something the hospital decides? (whether to sponsor a visitors or student visa)

did any one of you or anyone you know do his/her rotations on a student visa orJ1 visa . DOES IT REALLY MATTER ON WHAT VISA I AM GOING TO APPLY (I MEAN THE CHANCES OF GETTING ACCEPTED OR REJECTED AT THE US EMBASSY)
hi,am in a medical school in d caribeans and am about to start my clinicals.all i know about gettin a student f1 visa is dat u need a form i-20 so if d hospital is willin to give u one den am sure u can apply.d j1 visa i think is for residency program.are u certain dat one can do clinical rotations wit a visitors visa.