Dental Student in Japan wanting to pursue BS/DDS At Howard University - How do I get started?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I’m half Japanese and Black (non U.S citizen) , currently a sophomore at a small American high school in Japan. I’ve been interested in dentistry since elementary and wanting to pursue my dream as a General Dentist. I did some research and I was interested in Howard University’s 6 year BS/DDS Program but does anyone know what I can do from high school to get into Howard? Some people say this is a easy school to get into since the minimum SAT is 1380 but is it still easy to get into the combined program? Right now, my GPA is a 3.7 and I never took the SAT yet but studying for it since I’m still a sophomore. Is Howard University easy to get into as a international student? What should be my ideal SAT and GPA?

Sorry for asking a lot but I’m worried about my future because I don’t know if I can get into Howard as a international student.
This post may be better answered in the predental or HSDN subforums. You may want to look at BS/DDS programs in general. What attracts you to the 6-year track? You have to first be admitted by the undergraduate institution (Howard) before being admitted to the dental track, so you should ask the admissions recruiters at Howard about the process.

Howard is NOT an easy school because of its low SAT's. It is a historically black college/university (HBCU), and probably the most preeminent one, but in the US, there is a history of discrimination that has resulted in metric underachievement among disadvantaged populations including the domestic African-American community. I don't know if it's easy to get into as an international student, but you should be looking at a lot of universities in the United States, especially if you are aspiring to get into a reputable dental school and practice in the United States.