Studying abroad while earning a PsyD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Erica1990

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a psych undergrad (junior) learning both Spanish and French and plan to become fluent in both. Unfortunately, I only have room in my schedule to study abroad for a semester in a Spanish-speaking country and right after graduation I'm going to go straight to graduate school for a PsyD. Would I be able to study abroad while in grad school for a semester in France? Is it advisable?

On another note: Does anyone know the job market for PsyD grads in NYC? Whats the starting salary?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently a psych undergrad (junior) learning both Spanish and French and plan to become fluent in both. Unfortunately, I only have room in my schedule to study abroad for a semester in a Spanish-speaking country and right after graduation I'm going to go straight to graduate school for a PsyD. Would I be able to study abroad while in grad school for a semester in France? Is it advisable?

On another note: Does anyone know the job market for PsyD grads in NYC? Whats the starting salary?

Well, first off you don't know whether you will getting accepted into a doctoral program right away. Moreover, I don't think it has anything to do with being advisable rather than possible.
I don't that is has never, ever happened that somebody went abroad during their psychology graduate education but it's not like there are exchange programs like there are for undergraduate students, let alone anything that allows you take transferable credit.