Studying From the Syllabus vs From Texts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pirlo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
We just finished our neuro course. I was frustrated by the quality of the course and the poor notes, so I picked up USMLE Roadmap Neuroscience and went through the whole thing. I studied for lecture a lot as well, but not as much as usual because of using Roadmap Neuroscience.

I took the exam: got a 100% on the neuroanatomy practical part and a 70% on the written part. Needless to say, I am not honoring this course, but I will pass. The funny thing is - I feel very comfortable with my neuro knowledge. It's not perfect, but I honestly feel that if I had studied the lecture notes more and USMLE Roadmap Neuro less, I would know LESS neuroscience.

I sometimes feel that studying for the course is an impediment to my understanding because I learn best from texts, not Powerpoints (and the quality of the syllabus is erratic).

Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

A Powerpoint is at outline as best. I never studied a Powerpoint lecture but used the objectives and syllabus for study and mastery of material. I have the grades and board scores to back up my system. It worked for me but it might not work for everyone. Do what gets the best grades for you.

I think it really depends on you and your school. I learn best from outside sources, while my wife learns best from the notes (both of us are towards the top of our respective medical school classes). I supplement the lecture material with review books and wiki; don't waste your time with huge textbooks - they are over-polluted with unnecessary details and, for the most part, are a low yield resource (that is, if you are going to flat out read the chapters).