Studying Help?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CaptainSSO

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm not doing so great right now. We got tests soon and I'm honestly not sure how I'm going to do.

In undergrad, I studied by reading textbooks. I usually had to only slowly read through the book one time, and then skim it before a test. This method never failed me, because I learn a lot better through understanding the overall concept (textbooks) than learning what seem to be separate pieces of information (notes).

I feel like I don't get very much out of going to class, so if I wanted to read textbooks now, I would have to completely drop classes, and just read textboks (I wouldn't have time for notes anymore either).

So, does anyone have any study advice for people who prefer to read textbooks? I actually thought reading the syllabus would be alright, but I don't seem to be retaining as much information as I thought I would.

Members don't see this ad.

Unfortunately, you'll probably be tested over the notes. You should only go to textbooks/internet for concepts you don't understand in the notes. If you aren't getting anything out of class, don't go anymore.

You gotta just sit your butt in a chair and crank through the notes.

I'm not doing so great right now. We got tests soon and I'm honestly not sure how I'm going to do.

In undergrad, I studied by reading textbooks. I usually had to only slowly read through the book one time, and then skim it before a test. This method never failed me, because I learn a lot better through understanding the overall concept (textbooks) than learning what seem to be separate pieces of information (notes).

I feel like I don't get very much out of going to class, so if I wanted to read textbooks now, I would have to completely drop classes, and just read textboks (I wouldn't have time for notes anymore either).