stupid mistake

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by nontrad, Aug 29, 1999.

1. nontrad

nontrad New Member

Hi everyone. I was a new student at NYCOM. Prior to the white coat ceremony last friday, I withdrew from the school. I have a family member who suffered from a stroke a couple of weeks ago. This created a lot of chaos in the family. For fear of not having enough time to study, I withdrew. Now I feel that it was the dumbest thing I've ever done since I wanted to be a doctor terribly. Does anyone think that I can go in Monday and take back my withdrawal or do you think my seat has been given to someone else on the waiting list already?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. navydoc1971

navydoc1971 New Member

If you truly wish to become an osteopathic physician then I would get in to see the Dean ASAP. I would explain the circumstances under which you made your decision. Perhaps you could return this year. If not this year, maybe they would consider your withdrawl as a "Leave of Absence". This would surely save you time and money, since you shouldn't have to re-apply next year. Good Luck.

4. Satellite

Satellite Member
    10+ Year Member

I would think at the very least they would let you have a seat next fall. Perhaps they will even let you return on Monday.

Good Luck!

5. nontrad

nontrad New Member

Thanks for the input. I will go to the dean the first thing in the morning tomorrow and explain my situation to him. Hopefully, he'll give me a second chance. It truly makes me feel good to see replies to my post. I will let you guys know how things turn out.

6. nontrad

nontrad New Member