"stupid" pre meds

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
C

classicalmusic

We're not all stupid. But i just met some really stupid ones.

It was only about two months ago that I really decided to pursue medical school. Until then I was really heading for pharmacy school. I'm applying to med schools my last year in undergrad.

I admit, I am no expert. But, I have been shadowing a doc, reading alot here and have learned about the MCAT, SMP's ("if you messed up in undergrad"-and honestly this seems like something good to do during a glide year). I have not done alot of the clinical volunteering that some of you have done, but I have: volunteered with people learning english as a second language, taught piano using my own curriculum. I also am active in a church music group.

Anyways, I went to an "orientation" to this new university I am transfering to for another three years. While waiting to verify our schedules with a biology advisor I heard some ridiculous comments:

"You're taking anthropology classes! You should take just science, thats pre med stuff"

"Why did you work in a pharmacy, shouldn't you volunteer in a hospital."(I have a volunteer thing set up already, Im looking forward to trying it out....its at a home for the elderly. 3-4 hrs/week)

I also met several people who were planning on just applying to one medical school.

Again, Im not claiming to be some expert know it all "premed." One person didn't even know what the MCAT was.

Members don't see this ad.

better them be stupid than you!

classicalmusic said:

It was only about two months ago that I really decided to pursue medical school. Until then I was really heading for pharmacy school. I'm applying to med schools my last year in undergrad.