Success stories of physician scientists without PhDs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jsydc

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a 1st year MD-PhD student who is now strongly considering not doing the PhD in favour of an MD only with a research oriented fellowship. There is a 10 page list of factors at play, but I don't want to get into that in this thread. I already have a Master's degree and have more time in and am more confident in my experiences than many people going into the PhD in an MD-PhD program.

What I would like to know is if there are any success stories you know of personally of PIs who are MD only or MD/MSc who are excellent researchers. Not someone you've read about, but someone you've worked with long enough to say that they ask meaningful questions, have a sound research methodology, are successful in grants, publications, and are actually able to supervise students adequately (whatever that means to you, obviously these are all highly subjective criteria). Even better, if you are such a person or something close to it, would you do things the same way again if given the choice?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently a 1st year MD-PhD student who is now strongly considering not doing the PhD in favour of an MD only with a research oriented fellowship. There is a 10 page list of factors at play, but I don't want to get into that in this thread. I already have a Master's degree and have more time in and am more confident in my experiences than many people going into the PhD in an MD-PhD program.