Ayuka001

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Nov 22, 2008
Status
Pharmacy Student
hi guys! i'm a freshman in college, majoring in bio sciences. i'm thinking of starting some e.c. next quarter since my schedule would give me some time. but i have no idea what e.c i should start with, or where to find the opportunities?

OP
A

Ayuka001

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Nov 22, 2008
Status
Pharmacy Student
^ oh that's a great idea, but i don't know where i could find the money for it haha.

any other suggestions? or how i can find volunteer/intership opportunities

GoSpursGo

Allons-y!
Staff member
Administrator
10+ Year Member
Sep 30, 2008
Status
Fellow [Any Field]
I'm a big fan of research, as I think if you can have it spread over several semesters it shows a good commitment to something. If you could get into someone's lab next semester and continue it through your junior year, you'd have a big plus on your application that others won't, and you might even get lucky and wind up on a paper. In addition to that, it's one way to make sure you wind up with a bona-fide great letter of req.

Keep in mind this is no substitute for clinical experience, which you'll still need to pick up at some point... but starting research now would give you a chance to have some real "wow" research experience by the time you apply.

biophysicianai

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 1, 2008
Status
Medical Student
^ oh that's a great idea, but i don't know where i could find the money for it haha.
ahhh, agreed! my school does trips to thailand and guatemala, but both require a handsome some of cha-CHING-ka-CHING

TYPICAL PREMED STUFF: volunteer @ a hospital if possible, or somewhere else that makes a positive community contribution. see if you can get a lab tech job, and work your way up to actually doing your own research project

BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY, do what you like. you'll be applying to med school as a person, not an orgobio-bot. Show who you really are, what you really like...