Suggestions to do research after graduation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emos

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there!
I'm an Italian medical student, and I'll finish medical school in about 1 year time.
After that, I've decided to come to the US to study/work.
I'd like to do some good research, but, hopefully, also some hospital work.
The research I'm mostly interested in is molecular genetics, so nothing really clinical :)
I cannot choose between a PhD and a residency. I don't understand if there are specialty training programs that are 50% ward work and 50% research.
So I'm really puzzled here: I wouldn't bear to do clinical work 100% of my time. At the same time, working 100% of my time in a PhD seems limiting to me.
DO you have any suggestions?
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there!
I'm an Italian medical student, and I'll finish medical school in about 1 year time.
After that, I've decided to come to the US to study/work.
I'd like to do some good research, but, hopefully, also some hospital work.
The research I'm mostly interested in is molecular genetics, so nothing really clinical :)
I cannot choose between a PhD and a residency. I don't understand if there are specialty training programs that are 50% ward work and 50% research.
So I'm really puzzled here: I wouldn't bear to do clinical work 100% of my time. At the same time, working 100% of my time in a PhD seems limiting to me.
DO you have any suggestions?
Thanks
Many fellowship programs exist where you split your time between clinical time and a research project. This might be what you are looking for. I would start looking at research universities that you might want to work at, with programs you are interested in.

Last edited: