Summer: Gen Checm or Bio?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nietzsche

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
**Spelling error on Title, supposed to be: "Summer: Gen Chem or Bio", you get the drift.

Hi, I have one quick question. I am currently a freshman in college wrapping up my first year. So far I've taken the core out of the way, intro. to bio and intro to chem (pre. reqs for the General classes) as well. Overall, im just curious, what pair would you recommend me taking this summer?

General Biology 1+2 or General Chemistry 1+2?

Which one should I leave for the Fall/Spring semester? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Which one should I leave for the Fall/Spring semester?

Depends a lot on you as a student. Personally, I'd knock Gen Chem out of the way. Biology is "easier" and may afford you more time during the school year to do well in other courses or whatever you wish. If you have trouble with chemistry, then take Bio during the summer, giving you more time to learn and do well in chemistry.

Essentially, take whichever sequence you feel will give you the best chance of getting A's in all four of them. If there's no difference, then flip a coin.

-z

i would say take the Bio over the summer. Bio is more about memorizing and chem is more about understanding concepts. Taking chem over a normal semester gives you more time to really understand the material. That is, unless you plan on taking a heavy courseload in the fall then it might be best to take the chem over the summer.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm kind of asking myself the same question, but my situation has a little bit extra added to it. Maybe I can get some opinions as well?