Summer Job

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by Dr. Geoff, Dec 4, 2001.

1. Dr. Geoff

Dr. Geoff Mzungu

Medical Student
    I am only a freshman in college, but I was wondering what kind of things you guys did during the summer that helped you into med school? Like volunteering at a hospital, working in a lab or shadowing a doctor. What is out there for a freshman in college? If you guys could let me know your experiences and what you did, that would be great. Thanks.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. dingiswayo

dingiswayo Senior Member

I personally spent one summer working at a nursing assistant(i.e. an orderly--a job from high school), one summer working in Washington for a health policy lobbying group (boring), and one summer travelling in Europe (when I should have been home studying for the MCATs).

I would give the following advice:
    (1) Get some clinical experience at some point in your college career. You will want to have some experience with medicine on some level so medical schools think you are making an informed decision when you choose a apply. Clinical research, volunteering in a hospital or with a hospice, EMT job, nursing home, whatever... anything will do.
    (2) You have several summers before you finish college. You don't need to spend every summer developing entries for the "medical experience" section of your resume. That said, do not sit at home and play video games for 3 straight summers. Your interviews for medical school will last a lot longer and be much more fun if you have some unique experiences to talk about.

4. cmz

cmz Pathology Wannabe
    Physician

Attending Physician

5. Atlas

Atlas Senior Member

Fellow [Any Field]