Summer MCAT Prep while doing internship?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Aynbia

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I was hoping for some advice on my plans for prepping for and taking the MCAT.

A little about me: I'm a 3rd year undergraduate (planning on taking a gap year) and by the end of the semester I will have taken all the courses covered by the MCAT. I did well in all those courses, but I feel like I forgot most of the content (especially physics). I have had very bad luck in terms of doing research during the school year. For reasons beyond my control (professor retiring, professor out of funds), I have only spent segmented semesters doing "research" in different labs and accomplishing nothing. Currently, I am trying to get into an agriculture lab that I washed dishes for in the past. The summer after my freshman year, I did do some cancer research as part of an internship program. I do truly enjoy the entire process of research, and really want to accomplish something. Nonetheless, I feel like my research experience is pretty weak and so I really want to do research this summer.

I recently accepted a research position for the summer as part of the NIH-SIP program. My main concern is that I'm unsure about whether or not I can fit in studying for the MCAT during the summer and taking it in late August while doing the internship. I don't live in the area, so I assume I'll be spending most of my time off from work alone (no significant distractions). I suppose I can try to squeeze in some studying during the current semester, but I'm taking a heavy courseload and I don't think it would work out well. Do you think taking the MCAT in August is a bad idea? I'd rather not take it in the winter, since I'd like to know my score before selecting schools to apply for.

If any of you think I can pull it off, do you have any advice as to which prep book to purchase and study from?