Hey Guest! Check out the 3 MCAT Study Plan Options listed in the 'stickies' area at the top of the forums (BoomBoom, SN2ed, and MCATJelly). Let us know which you like best.

Also, we now offer a MCAT Test-Prep Exhibitions Forum where you can ask questions directly from the test-prep services.
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

summer MCAT studying...

Discussion in 'MCAT Discussions' started by Bito42, Mar 21, 2002.

1. Bito42

Bito42 Member 10+ Year Member

Jan 24, 2002
    i'm taking the MCAT this summer (the summer after my sophomore year). I'm taking a Kaplan course but it looks like it starts at various times...if I'm ONLY studying in the summer, how many weeks and hours/day do you recommend studying? (i would like to work or do research at the same time...)
    thanks!!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Trek

Trek Grand Uranium Member 7+ Year Member

Aug 23, 2001
    The Big House
    6-8 weeks of hardcore studying should be more than adequate if you're taking a class too. G'luck! --Trek

4. jargon124

jargon124 Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Oct 2, 2001
    I studied for about 5 weeks over the summer, about 4-6 hours a day. Results were good. :)

5. Trek

Trek Grand Uranium Member 7+ Year Member

Aug 23, 2001
    The Big House
    ya humble summabitch :) --Trek

6. WonderBoy

WonderBoy Physician 10+ Year Member

Jan 16, 2001
    Midwest
    The amount of MCAT studying one persons needs is different for another person. It all depends on how well you know the material before you start studying. At is why you diagnostic is key, it should tell you where you stand. However, kaplan's first diagnostic is difficult and their scoring is not very generous. That is just to movtivate you to study i guess. Anyhow, I would three hours a day for two months would be average amount of studying for everyone.

7. Doctora Foxy

Doctora Foxy Meow 7+ Year Member

Jan 28, 2002