summer MCAT studying...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bito42

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm taking the MCAT this summer (the summer after my sophomore year). I'm taking a Kaplan course but it looks like it starts at various times...if I'm ONLY studying in the summer, how many weeks and hours/day do you recommend studying? (i would like to work or do research at the same time...)
thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

6-8 weeks of hardcore studying should be more than adequate if you're taking a class too. G'luck! --Trek

I studied for about 5 weeks over the summer, about 4-6 hours a day. Results were good. :)

Members don't see this ad :)
The amount of MCAT studying one persons needs is different for another person. It all depends on how well you know the material before you start studying. At is why you diagnostic is key, it should tell you where you stand. However, kaplan's first diagnostic is difficult and their scoring is not very generous. That is just to movtivate you to study i guess. Anyhow, I would three hours a day for two months would be average amount of studying for everyone.

Here's my idea: Study as much as you can every day over the summer, but volunteer (with patient contact!) once a week for at least 5 hours. This is not a big commitment, but when you interview, you can say you did something over the summer besides studying for the mcats. The volunteering may enhance your mcats as well (when I volunteered the doctors were nice enough to explain stuff to me such as drug interactions, etc), and it would have been *a little* helpful if I had volunteered before the mcats.

Make sure you devote yourself and your summer to the mcats because all other august mcaters will be doing the same, so the curve will be harder.

Best of luck to you! It is very wise (and courageous) to take the MCATS after your sophomore year. :D

Foxy