Summer research and MCAT???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Idioteque

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Has anyone done a summer research program (SURP) or an internship the summer in which you took the MCAT? Did you have time to study? Do you recommend doing this? Thanks. :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

Idioteque said:
Has anyone done a summer research program (SURP) or an internship the summer in which you took the MCAT? Did you have time to study? Do you recommend doing this? Thanks. :thumbup:

I worked full-time while studying for the August MCAT. 8 hours of work plus 3-4 hours of study is possible. You just have to be willing to commit and prioritize your time.

It's doable. Currently, I'm studying for the August 2005 MCAT, and I work part time in a lab on an independent project. So, figure, I spend an average of 20 hours a week in the lab, and I study on nights, weekends, and when i get out early from work.
I think i might have things easier since I took all my premed requirements already. But, if you have taken the bcpms, and you're diligent it's doable.

Good luck to you and me :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm talking more about research programs , ones where you have to work 40 hours a week, attend seminars, and do stuff with the other kids? Any one do one of these and still have time to study?

Idioteque said:
I'm talking more about research programs , ones where you have to work 40 hours a week, attend seminars, and do stuff with the other kids? Any one do one of these and still have time to study?