Summer Research or SMDEP

Espadaleader

10+ Year Member
May 28, 2010
  1. Medical Student
    Hello everyone. Today I've just received my research experiment for the summer from my PI. I am a sophomore and I have worked with my PI since freshman year (had her for intro). This is my second research project and my first as an experienced researcher and she would like that I get published. My situation is a little different from most because I research at a VERY small school. Our lab has only 3 people. Myself, another sophomore and the PI. As a result we all work and contribute equally to experiments. The sophomore is a "new guy" so I am expected be an example to him as well. Long story short, the lab is close, and we act more as friends/auntie than student/PI. Is it worth leaving this for Yale SMDEP? I don't want to miss out on an opp but I don't want to let down my PI

(P.S.) I looked at other threads for advice before posting.

RingTailedDoc

Feb 28, 2011
    out west
    1. Medical Student
      Hello everyone. Today I've just received my research experiment for the summer from my PI. I am a sophomore and I have worked with my PI since freshman year (had her for intro). This is my second research project and my first as an experienced researcher and she would like that I get published. My situation is a little different from most because I research at a VERY small school. Our lab has only 3 people. Myself, another sophomore and the PI. As a result we all work and contribute equally to experiments. The sophomore is a "new guy" so I am expected be an example to him as well. Long story short, the lab is close, and we act more as friends/auntie than student/PI. Is it worth leaving this for Yale SMDEP? I don't want to miss out on an opp but I don't want to let down my PI

(P.S.) I looked at other threads for advice before posting.