SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

SUNY Upstate (instate) vs. Boston University

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by greenwinds, May 11, 2007.

1. greenwinds

greenwinds

May 8, 2007
    Dear friends,

I am new to SDN. I must make the decision between a state school (SUNY Upstate) and Boston University. The price difference will be around $130,000. Due to the fact that BU tuition is 43K and Upstate is around 20K - and I can live significantly close to home and resupply on food and the like.

I have been consulting with a number of residents and doctors - many of whom always say go to the cheapest school possible - since BU is not an ivy league it will not make a considerable difference where one will place within residency. However, I am a fan of the Boston city and am quite emotional about pursuing dermatology which in itself is quite competitive. Some physicians in this case say to go to boston because I need the name to help me with such a competitive residency and in the long run a derm. career will be well reimbursed.

As you all know - May 15th is the deadline, and I would not be posting here at all if I was leaning towards one or the other - even after my whole last month of thinking.

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Schaden Freud

Schaden Freud MiSanthrope II 2+ Year Member

Apr 23, 2006
    Definitely SUNY Upstate. Don't fall into the "Ooooh I wanna live in Boston" mentality. It'll get old really fast.

4. Funky

Funky This space is for sale 10+ Year Member

Feb 15, 2006
    NY
    I'm not sure how many more students match in derm in BU compared to Upstate but I would say it's comparable. Residency placement is mostly all up to you and your Step I score. I say go with the school you feel the most comfortable in. I'm not sure if I would want to pay the additional 130k to live in boston all things considered.

5. Topspin82

Topspin82 Shaken *and* Stirred 5+ Year Member