Supervisor says he won't submit the letter until August

Jul 4, 2019
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi all,

I have gotten most of my secondaries already and filled a lot of them out/submitted them, and I have all but one of my letters submitted. The only letter I am waiting on is from my current supervisor (PI at the lab where I am a lab tech). He says he isn't planning on even starting the letter until August, but that "he's familiar with how med admissions work" and this won't impact my chances. From what I've read this isn't the case but I want to confirm (in case anything has changed/anyone has other insight) before I confront him again. I'm also scared that he'll be mad at me for pushing to have it in sooner and will write me a bad letter because of it. I could really use any advice you all can offer.

Thank you.

LizzyM

the evil queen of numbers
10+ Year Member
Mar 7, 2005
Status
Academic Administration
Chill. This is where the LizzyM Labor Day rule comes into play. As long as everything, including LORs in in by Labor Day you'll be fine. Many, many huge feeder schools don't send committee letters until August and you don't see that hurting applicants from Hopkins, Duke and Emory, do you?

Reactions: Moko and vrally

gonnif

Only 512 Days Until Next Presidential Election
Lifetime Donor
7+ Year Member
Jul 26, 2009
The Big Bad Apple
Status
Non-Student
Chill. This is where the LizzyM Labor Day rule comes into play. As long as everything, including LORs in in by Labor Day you'll be fine. Many, many huge feeder schools don't send committee letters until August and you don't see that hurting applicants from Hopkins, Duke and Emory, do you?