Surg path or forensic path elective as a 3rd year med student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CuriousGeorge2

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I am a 3rd year med student and my school scheduled me for elective time before my cores. My school offers a surgical path and a forensic path elective that doesn't require any previous rotation experience. As someone who is probably NOT going to go into pathology (likely going into surgery), are either of these electives worth taking? That is, is there anything that I learn in these electives that I can carry over to the rest of my rotations?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Good question, and good for you for asking it. If you're going to be a surgeon, I think both forensic path and surg path have value. If it's an option, two weeks of each will serve you well. If you do the FP, focus not just on seeing the "neat" autopsies, but also on learning how to fill out a death certificate, something most physician are absolutely horrible at, but is the daily bread and butter of FP. That said, if you have to choose one or the other, surg path is probably more useful to a future surgeon. Instead of bouncing around, would suggest trying to do 3 weeks of regular signout and 1 of frozen sections. Seeing how frozens are done, their limitations, and their appropriate and inappropriate usage is time very well spent for any future surgeon.

So in summary, you can't go wrong with either elective, but if you have to pick one, surg path is gonna give you more useful knowledge for your future rotations and career. That said, forensic pathologists are definitely cooler (kidding, guys and gals), and you definitely will have a lighter schedule. I've never seen a forensic path rotating med student/resident work past 4pm at any facility I've been a part of - is just the nature of the work.

Hey all,