Surgeon wanting to switch into rad with not so rad grades...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hmaier888

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone...

I know there are some similar posts, but I feel my situation is different enough to warrant its own. So here goes.

I am currently a categorical PGY1 surgery resident at an academic institution. I love surgery, but am very quickly realizing its just not for me. After being out in the real world for a whole 29 days and counting, I am beginning to see that the 'dark side' is right up my alley (likes, interests, lifestyle, attitude).

The problem is that I wasn't an all star med student. My scores are 196/80 and 235/95. I have P on my clinical years, and H on everything in 3 and 4 (hence the discrepancy in my step 1 and 2 grades). I also have loads of research (non rad related), including a grant and a few presentations at the national level.

So, what do I do? Do I:
A) Apply to the match this year, let me PD know now and get crucified by the surgery team, lose my contract, and risk not matching?
B) Wait another year?
C) Try to slip directly into a rad spot (not exactly sure on how to make this happen...

And do I really even have a chance in hell?

Does the fact that I've been a bona fide doctor in a real program mean anything when applying for a rads spot? And what can I do AT THIS POINT to really bolster my application?

Thanks for any responses.... If anyone knows 'easier' programs or any openings, PLEASE feel free to PM me

Members don't see this ad.