docrd24

10+ Year Member
Mar 1, 2005
Status
HI!
I am an indian grad and m desp to get surgery in the states. i was thinking on the lines of uro/ortho and i am aware they thats a tough ask ,m willin to do gen surg and then try for a change............. What all do the univs look for when they give one a call[interveiw]?what do they want in an img so that he can be selected for a program?

doc05

2K Member
15+ Year Member
May 24, 2003
U.S.A.
Visit site
Status
programs will look at your grades, USMLE scores, letters of reference - especially helpful would be letters from well-known american clinicians. clinical experience in the U.S. is important. research is also an asset. make sure you are fluent in english and can work in/with another culture. what some img's do is a preliminary surgery year (relatively easy to get), then try to find a categorical spot. if you have any contacts in the US, try to speak with surgery attendings/PD's/chairman.

I suggest you forget about both ortho and urology. these are highly competitive, there are many more well-qualified american grads than available spots, and you'd be setting yourself up for serious disappointment. not what you want to hear, I'm sure, but you need to be realistic.

best of luck.

B

Blade28

Have you taken any of the USMLE Steps yet? Visa status? Any US clinical experience? Letters of recommendation from US physicians?

Amy

15+ Year Member
Feb 1, 2001
Las Vegas, NV
Status
Attending Physician
Also, remember there are plenty of community hospital programs as well! You mentioned universities in your post, but there are many different types of programs out there! Community programs are a bit easier to get into, in general. Do some research (including this board) to figure out pros and cons of the different types of programs and to figure out which would best serve your career goals.

Good luck.

OP
D

docrd24

10+ Year Member
Mar 1, 2005
Status
Blade28 said: