surgery to Family medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Calirad

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I am a PGY2 surgical resident, but I think surgery is not for me. I would like to switch into EM or Family medicine next year or now ( I think it is impossible, right? probably no opening spot)
What should i do? I have great letters from my surgical attendings, great step 1 & 2 ( > 255), and great clinical grades. ( but not AOA).
My current residency program is in California, do I have any chance to stay in cali at all? I am interested in the big academic programs, how difficult it is to match into these programs
I will apply through ERAS again? Any other suggestion? Should I contact the PDs in California?
BTW, my PD will fully support my decision.

Members don't see this ad.

I think that it's very possible. I got to know a number of people who switched between different specialties within our institution, and those guys/girls switched between very very competitive specialties. For example, I worked with 2 attendings and 2 residents who did PGY1 surgery-prelim/categorical and then continued onto as IMED, Family, and worked with a resident who was in ortho then switched to Emergency. As long as there's an opening (especially primary care, so many unfilled spots!), I think that you would be welcome to apply and have an equal or even better chance of getting in with ur stats, current level of training. goodluck!

Members don't see this ad :)
I know this doesn't answer your question at all, but there's an interesting article about how a retired general surgeon became a family physician. I don't necessarily agree with how easy it was for him to switch (I think that demeans our profession, but that's a different topic). I thought you might find it interesting:

http://www.modernmedicine.com/modernmedicine/article/articleDetail.jsp?id=728455&pageID=1&sk=&date=