Surgery?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mackel

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
This summer I have an oppurtunity to scrub into surgery with a general surgeon. Is this a good oppurtunity to take advantage of? The downside to it is that I would have to take a job as an orderly in the OR. I already have two other summer jobs and I'm taking calculus. thanks

Members don't see this ad.

If you get to scrub, see if you will also get to round on patients with them and to join them during clinics. If you're interested in surgery, then total involvement like that will totally get your juices flowing like nothing else. If you only get to see the cases in the OR but don't see patients outside of the OR, it can get old really fast.

Depending on what you think your ability is in regards to juggling your obligations, it sounds like a cool opportunity.

good luck

Dear Mackel,
As an undergrad I was allowed to shadow a neurosurgery attending in the OR for two weeks, and on two occasions, got to scrub in.
I was only able to go on rounds once, though, and, to tell the truth, even then, standing in the middle of a huge pack of neuro- and vascular-surgery attendings, fellows and residents I was scared. Not of embarassing myself, but of what I could become should I choose this field. Don't get me wrong, 3/4ths of these doctors were wonderful, caring people. But the remaining quarter more than made up my mind to never ever enter a surgical subspecialty.

My point is, to echo carbon klein, if you get to go on rounds, and the surgeon you will work with is a caring, pedogogic sort, it will be a great experience and will, indeed, get your juices flowing. If not, again, as cK said, it will get old (and depressing) fast.
Good luck to you!

Members don't see this ad :)
Dear Buttercup,