Surgical Loupes recommendations? DFV/Oracoscoptic/ExamVision/Zeiss/Surgitel/others?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medstart108

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a cardiothoracic resident looking into a new pair of loupes. I currently have DFV 2.5s TTL EFs but I want to upgrade the zoom so that I can do distals coronaries. While i've been relatively happy with the customer service, I've found that DFV loupes are fickle, the optimal clarity of vision only happens when loupe is positioned in a certain way on my face and I was surprised when I tried surgitel how large and clear the field of view is. I haven't had the chance to meet with the reps from other manufacturers yet.

However, i'm still debating whether or not I want to use 3.5s or 4.5s and for that reason I've also considered adjustable loupes like the Eyezoom Oracoscoptic or Examvision Kepler Advanced. Does anyone have any experience with those? If I do choose DFV, does anyone know the differences between the Panoramic vs Expanded Field scopes?

I'm also in the market for a LED headlight, does anyone have recommendations for a light manufacturer? Ideally something that has a wide light and is long lasting.

Members don't see this ad.

I have the DFV microEF 3.5s and have been pretty happy with them. Wore them all through fellowship and use them when I'm doing open thoracic cases now. The DFV panoramics are new and I'd be curious to know how much weight they add to the frame and the perceived benefit of an additional 3.5 cm diameter field. Also what the extra cost is.

Go with what works for you. I know folks who swear by their Surgitel loupes and it seems like you thought the optics were better.