surgical oncology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anemia

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anybody know where I can get a list of surgical oncology fellowships besides the ones that are SSO accredited? I looked at sso and there are only 12 or so programs in the country. Is surgical oncology difficult to match in? Any insights how many people go into this field? Three years seems like a lot is it financially worth it? I am in my first year of surgery and woulld like to know. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

yes, there are very few programs out there, and there's little point in doing a nonaccredited fellowship.

It's not financially worth it, but there are other reasons people go into surgical oncology.

Does anybody know anyone who applied to this and did not get it?

Members don't see this ad :)
There are some surgical oncology fellowships out there that are not in the SSO match. However, since they aren't, they can be tough to find. They are also somewhat a question as to whether they are worth doing since without the SSO stamp of approval, you don't get automatic candidacy for the SSO. This might not be a problem if you don't want to be an academic, but if you do (which the majority of those doing the fellowship at least start out with that intention) it might pose a problem.