1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Switching from FM to psych

Discussion in 'Psychiatry' started by scharnhorst, Aug 5, 2015.

1. scharnhorst

10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    I'm an FM physician, out of residency and in practice for 5 yrs

I was wondering if it would be still possible to get into a Psych residency program ? I did a fair amount of outpt psych for 3 yrs being an FP in a small town

Has anyone done that ? please share your experience
    How long do I need to train ?
    Is it even possible considering I have completed one residency

Thanks

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. MacDonaldTriad

5+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    This is possible, It will take 3 years, and the hardest part will be living on a resident's pay.

4. scharnhorst

10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    I live pretty frugally so that is not an issue
    I guess I will have to work with a psychiatrist before the application process starts.I'm thinking of shadowing a psychiatrist or 2 for a month , do you think that would help ?
    Will a psychiatrist allow me as another physician to shadow them ?

5. Shikima

Physician 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    You can do it, if you want. Just will be a hard 3 years. But you can moonlight doing ERs and UC with your time off.

6. MacDonaldTriad

5+ Year Member

Attending Physician