Switching to pre-med, want to attend medical school but worried

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Arx0s

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a sophomore computer science/applied mathematics major at a college near Boston. I recently came to the realization that I hate programming, and I needed to get out of it. I've always had a huge interest in the sciences and medicine, and I am greatly interesting in the thought of one day being a surgeon (hopefully orthopedic).

I'm worried about my chances of getting into a decent medical school when the time comes.
My GPA is roughly 3.2 right now, but it should be around a 3.6-3.8 by the time I apply. I'm hoping to volunteer/shadow at some hospital this summer, to get a feel for what it would be like to be a physician. I haven't many pre-med required courses yet, but I'm switching to biotech/applied math next semester and will be caught up by the Spring semester.

Honestly, I'm worried about failing, and not getting into medical school. I'm uncertain about the MCATs, although I plan to start immersing myself in it soon. Is getting into medical school as hard as people say? What can I do to increase my chances? I feel that if I don't get in, I'll think of myself as a failure.

Sorry for the pseudo-rambling/life story. I've just never felt so nervous/ so excited about something before! The thought of perhaps one day being a surgeon makes me incredibly motivated/exhilarated.

Members don't see this ad.

you can definitely do it. you have plenty of time. don't feel pressured to apply during junior or even senior year. the avg age of med students entering their 1st yr is 25... most people take at least one gap year.

I'm worried about my chances of getting into a decent medical school when the time comes.