T-32 Research fellowships

Discussion in 'Psychiatry' started by masterofmonkeys, Dec 15, 2008.

1. masterofmonkeys

masterofmonkeys Angy Old Man
    7+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    I hear nowadays it's impossible to get a K23 or R01 or any decent funding without one. Is that really true?

I would personally like to avoid doing 8 years of postgraduate training like my neurosurgery buddy but I will if I have to.

I also want a pretty even 50/50 split of clinical/research time (woudl actually prefer 75 clinical but meh) once i'm an attending. Although I guess you do get some protected time for clinical responsibilities even during your research fellowship. I have no idea if you're considered an attending during that time or not though (don't see why you wouldn't since you'd be a fully trained psychiatrist at that point).

I have a master's, have some publications (as sole/lead author) and have about 5 more in the pipeline (ony two connected to psych, though).

My current gameplan is to do the full four years of psych residency before going for my C&A fellowship. I'm hoping with 6 years i'll have enough time to demonstrate research proficiency and get enough experience to get a K23 out the gate.

I also interviewed for two integrated programs with funded research fellowship time included.

Obviously the integrated tracks would be a better guarantee of getting solid grant funding earlier in my career, but yeah.

Anyway, thoughts? Anyone on here actually doing a substantial amount of research

2. atsai3

10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]