Take both Comlex and USMLE or just Comlex?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futuredrdo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, been a lurker for a while, haven't decided to post until now. Currently an MS2 and plan on matching either EM or IM. If I do IM probably looking at a subspecialty. I wanted to know if I should take both COMLEX 1 and Step 1 next year or just take COMLEX 1 this year and then follow up third year with both COMLEX 2 and Step 2?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey all, been a lurker for a while, haven't decided to post until now. Currently an MS2 and plan on matching either EM or IM. If I do IM probably looking at a subspecialty. I wanted to know if I should take both COMLEX 1 and Step 1 next year or just take COMLEX 1 this year and then follow up third year with both COMLEX 2 and Step 2?

Both, within a week or so of each other. Priority goes to usmle. Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Both. Do not delay one. You will regret it.

Reactions: 1 user
We have found that there's no need to take USMLE I, but if you're gunning for an allo residency, it helps to have USMLE II.

In any case, do NOT take USMLE I if you've been in the bottom quartile of your class.

We have found that there's no need to take USMLE I, but if you're gunning for an allo residency, it helps to have USMLE II.

I completely understand that you're very supportive of the osteopathic branch of medicine, but something about this comment throws me off. I've never heard anyone say that taking USMLE 1 wasn't useful for an Allo residency.

Just to make sure, I was talking about DO students, not MD. From what I hear RD or PDs like Step II, and both types of students are on an even footing at that level.

Let me know if I'm wrong.