Take the Psychology Subject GRE or Not?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thirdeye99

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all -

I'm in a bit of a different situation here. I majored in psychology, but have been out of undergrad for almost 10 years. (Been doing research in behavioral medicine for 7 of those years). I am applying to PhD programs in clinical psych this year. Seven out of the 9 schools I am applying to do not require, but recommend, the psych subject GRE. However, two schools (Duke and Ohio University) do require the psych GRE for clinical students. I'm a little shocked/disappointed that Duke does.

I remember very little from my undergrad classes and am positive I would bomb the subject GRE, even after studying, and know it would hurt more than help my application. Questions:

- Should I fore go taking the subject GRE and apply anyway to those two schools? Given my "older" applicant status and an otherwise solid application combined with program fit, might there be a chance they would not completely rule out my application just because I did not take the subject GRE?

- Or if I did happen to take the subject GRE in november (and presumably did not do well), is there a way to tell ETS to send the subject scores ONLY to those two schools who require it so that the other 7 schools do not see the scores? Or are GRE scores a package deal? ie. ETS sends all GRE scores (general and subject) to any school I specify.

Thanks for any opinions and thoughts on this issue.

Members don't see this ad.

It has been a while, so I'm not 100% sure, but I believe you can easily send your general GRE scores without your subject test scores. I remember having to check a box on the request forms to verify that, yes, I did want my subject scores to go to my schools along with my general GRE scores.