Taking 2 Years OFF after undergrad? OK?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Liquidice07

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I wanted to get some legit feedback.
Just to give you some background, I graduate this May and this is my 6th year of undergrad (I'm 23 y/o). Not on purpose; just transferred to a cheaper school, changed my major and all that jazz.

So, I am getting ready to apply to med school this June, however, I've been considering waiting and applying next June (2013) for Fall 2014 entry. The only reason is I have somewhat of a nomadic/traveler spirit and I want to do some fun things before I began the med career. Some things I've been thinking of: a round the world service project helping NGOs and non-profits, bar tend in italy, road trip, backpack in Alaska, and maybe intern with the federal govt. It's not so much I am doubting my choice to try to go to medical school, but I just know this is the only time I'll be able to do these things.

So will med school adcoms look favorably or unfavorably upon 2 years off where 1.5 of that is probably goofing around, having fun, and being young?

thanks ahead of time :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

Didn't hurt me none. Sounds like fun, though two years is a little short. You will be a hit in the interview waiting room, and have something to talk about in the actual interviews besides how many blankets you folded for the hospital. :thumbup:

Hey guys, I wanted to get some legit feedback.
Just to give you some background, I graduate this May and this is my 6th year of undergrad (I'm 23 y/o). Not on purpose; just transferred to a cheaper school, changed my major and all that jazz.