Taking 5 years to finish undergraduate

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wafflyw

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm currently going to a community college, and it's my second semester after I graduated from High School.

Due to the many pre-reqs that the bio major requires, I'm going to have to spend 3 years at my CC, and then transfer to a university to finish off my junior and senior year. What I am trying to ask you guys is that is it okay for me to finish my undergraduate in 5 years because all the pre-requisites held me back from transfer in 2 years?

Yes, I realize there are other topics out there, but I did not come across one with a "pre-reqs holding me back" type of situation. Thanks!

(As a side note, I was supposed to take Chemistry in my first year, but didn't, and could not get into a chemistry class [due to lack of seats] this semester, so I am going to start on Chemistry next semester)

Members don't see this ad.

Graduating in 5 yrs is not a problem. Depending on the reputation of the cc, med schools in general tend to frown on taking pre-reqs at a cc vs. a 4-yr college.

Graduating in 5 yrs is not a problem. Depending on the reputation of the cc, med schools in general tend to frown on taking pre-reqs at a cc vs. a 4-yr college.

OP, don't listen to anyone who talks about "reputation of the cc", they're talking out of their ass. A CC is a CC. There is no newsweek CC rankings or reputations at that. Anyways, graduating in 5 years isn't uncommon. With all the cut backs that public/state colleges have endured in the past years, which equates to less classes offered, it's not unusual for someone to not graduate in 4 years now-a-days. You should be fine as long as you have a full-time school schedule (12-15+ semester units). Do well on your MCAT so that your score matches, or is better, than you CC pre-req GPA.

Members don't see this ad :)